|NAME||JOLLY COLLIERS INN|
|ADDRESS||568 WOODWAY LANE, WALSGRAVE|
|ALTERNATIVE ADDRESSES||SOWE, SOWE WASTE|
|This name was a reference to the local collieries. In 1875 the owner, Thomas Walker, made a will. On his death his wife took on the pub until c1874. In 1885 Phillips and Marriott leased the pub for 15 years for £40 per annum from W. H. Nightingale of 2 White Street, Coventry. In 1911 the lease lapsed. By 1913 it was a Phipps pub with the tenant, W. Hayes paying £20 per annum.
There used to be stabling by the pub for 8 to 10 horses so that the boat people could moor up overnight. The telephone reached Walsgrave in 1914 and the Jolly Colliers had the first private one installed - the number was Walsgrave 1.
Rivalry between the Boat Inn and Jolly Colliers was exercised in the annual derby cricket match between the two, held on Sowe Common. In 1982 it was described as a 'charming little pub at the end of Woodway Lane, next to the motorway. Well worth a visit'. However, by 2011 it had closed and the building targeted by slate and metal theives. It then burnt down in 2012.
|Known Licensees are;
1845 Richard Walker
1863 Thomas Walker
1866 - 1874 Mrs Sarah Walker
1879 - 1880 Enoch Simpson & limeburner
1888 - 1900 Thomas Simpson
1900 Henry Eaton
1903 - 1904 Richard Henry Bennett
1906 - 1908 Alfred William Lamsdon (or William Alfred)
c1908 William Hayes (see also Spotted Dog)
1912 George Marston
1913 W. Hayes
1924 William Briggs
1926 Francis James Pickard
1933 - 1955 Wallace J. Lole (see above)
c1956 -1965 and onwards Clifton James Whitmore (see above, see also Navigation Inn, Stoney Stanton Road)
Website Content © 2015 Real Ale Rambles. All rights reserved.
Website Design © 2015 Go Graphix.