title artwork
Here is what we think is the only comprehensive record of pubs and beerhouses within the Coventry city boundaries going back as far as available records allow. This is an ongoing project so contributions, corrections or additions to this archive, especially anecdotes, photos and media are most welcome. Feel free to contact us for a pint and a chat anytime.

Beerhouse

photo
ADDRESS ALLESLEY
ALTERNATIVE ADDRESSES EASTERN GREEN
THIS BECAME UNICORN

THIS PREMISES HAS BEEN KNOWN BY DIFFERENT NAMES DURING ITS HISTORY

See all available records HERE

FROM TO KNOWN AS
1841 1850 UNICORN
1850 1924 BEERHOUSE, Lower Eastern Green
1924 1989 UNICORN
1989 present SCIREBORNE TAVERN

This appears to have used the name the UNICORN from the start. It is known to have brewed in 1851. From 1850 to 1924 this was the Beerhouse, lower Eastern Green, although on the 1888 map above it is named as The Unicorn public house. It was a cottage on Unicorn Lane. The Wills family, early licensees, were cordwainers who ran the beerhouse as something of a side line.

The old premises, replaced in 1954 by the new one opposite, still stands as a cottage. it remained as a beerhouse until comparatively late.

Known Licensees at the BEERHOUSE are;
1841 - 1850 John Wills & shoemaker
1863 - 1880 Arthur Wills
1888 - 1892 Mrs Arthur Wills
1900 - 1924 Ernest Burbridge

Known Licensees at the UNICORN are;
1841 Joseph Tims
1841 - 1851 John Wills cordwainer
1863 - 1879 Arthur Wills cordwainer & beer house keeper
1929 E. Burbridge
1931 - 1940 Henry French
1983 Bob Gould
1985 Mr S. Walton

map

Website Content © 2015 Real Ale Rambles. All rights reserved.
Credits and Copyrights for photos and images have been given where possible. We apologise for any omissions

HTML5 Powered with CSS3 / Styling, Device Access, Graphics, 3D & Effects, Multimedia, Performance & Integration, and Semantics logo

Website Design © 2015 Go Graphix.